Atzko Kohashi & Sebastiaan Kaptein – Dualtone (2013)

Artist: Atzko Kohashi & Sebastiaan Kaptein
Title: Dualtone
Genre: Jazz
Release Date: 2013
Label: Sound Liaison
Duration: 56:53
Quality: FLAC 96kHz/24bit
Source: HDTracks

Bill Evans once referred to Japanese ‘Sumiye’ ~ ink-wash paintings ~ in his liner notes for the original recording of Kind of Blue by Miles Davis sextet in 1958: “There is a Japanese visual art in which the artist is forced to be spontaneous. He must paint on a thin stretched parchment with a special brush and black water paint in such a way that an unnatural or interrupted stroke will destroy the line or break through the parchment. Erasures or changes are impossible….”

In retrospect, (as far as I know) he was the first one to touch on Japanese visual art related to jazz music and I’m now pursuaded that Bill Evans had it absolutely right. Believe it or not, the essence of traditional Japanese art, from Japanese sit-down comedy the Way of Tea, surprisingly had so much in common with jazz music.

While recording we enjoyed going with the flow an living in the moment. I hope that you can hear it here, and enjoy!–Atzko Kohashi

01. Blue in Green (Miles Davis)
02. Falling Grace (Steve Swallow)
03. Icebreaker No.1 (Sebastiaan Kaptein)
04. But Beautiful (Jimmy Van Heusen)
05. I Remember You (Victor Schertzunger)
06. Icebreaker No.2 (Kobashi Atsuko)
07. Very Early (Bill Evans)
08. How Deep is the Ocean (Irving Berlin)
09. My old Flame (Arthur Johnston)
10. Pittoresk (Kobashi Atsuko)
11. Two by Two (Steve Kuhn)
12. A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square (Manning Sherwin)

Atzko Kohashi — piano
Sebastiaan Kaptein — drums


This entry was posted in Jazz and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.